Transformation

Does your home look like this? Well, not this outdated I bet. Maybe you just feel like it does. Do you feel tired when you look at your space? Does it frustrate you when you find yourself just moving stuff around instead of finding a permanent home for it because there IS no permanent home for it? Or you just can’t figure out where that ‘home’ should be?

Eastgate_living1

Eastgate_living2

I know it can be hard to figure things out sometimes. That’s what clutter or just having too much stuff (or even not enough stuff!) in a space can do to you. It’s overwhelming and your room doesn’t feel comfortable. Part of what I do as an Interior Decorator is just that. Help you find a permanent home for your things in a way that is beautiful and changes the way you feel in your home.

You can move your furniture around all day long but it still may look or feel awkward. That’s where a space, or floor, plan can come in handy. You can move your furniture around on paper and be sure everything fits and looks balanced before you actually move anything for real. That’s one of the services I offer on www.mydivabydesign.com.

Just look at what a little paint, space planning, new sofas, and accessories did for this room. Plus taking down that ‘thing’ over the peninsula. The room is brighter, more open, and just feels better.

13living1

The reaction I got when they walked into the room was, “Are you sure this is the same place?” The look and the feel of the room was so different, that anyone who walked in felt like they were in a different place.

Eastgate_living2

That’s my goal when I design for you. That should be your goal when you design for yourself as well. Tell me what you think in the comments. Tell me how you feel in your home. Tell me how you want to feel when you walk in the door.

I always say that good design is an investment and worth the cost. Worth the cost because it raises your standard of living. Even if you don’t have a huge budget. This transformation cost around $600.

My client already had the sofas, coffee table, TV and stand, and the glider. They wanted to keep these and just update. This is a rental so I didn’t personalize the space like I normally would. It was more like a staging.

The yellow counters had to stay as well so I just worked that color into the design. It made the ’70’s Goldenrod color look current. My client kept saying how the color actually looked good now. I love it when that happens!

Feeling stuck or unsure how to go about transforming your space? Head on over to Diva by Design and let’s get started on your room transformation today! And, hey! Show me some love by leaving a comment and letting me know you were here today.

 

10 thoughts on “Transformation

  1. Fabulous Christina! You breathed new light and life into an extremely dated, dank interior. And you only spent $600? Wow! That’s very impressive! I do miss the chopper on the ceiling though. [just kidding] xo, Laurel

    1. Thanks, Laurel! Yes, I only spent about $600 on that one room. I will be posting about the rest of the rental home in the weeks to come. I wanted to leave the ceiling fan, but the client’s property manager didn’t want to pay the electrician to rewire it. Someone had left the bare wire hanging near the window. So, gone! LOL

      1. it’s funny, but since most bloggers are still on blogger, I rarely get comments from fellow wordies and when I comment, don’t know if they see it or not. When I comment on blogger blogs, I have to use my google+ account, because so-called open ID doesn’t work. It’s a known issue, but no one ever takes care of it. At least not the last time I checked.

      2. Here on wordpress, I get an email every time someone comments. It’s nice. I try to respond to each one as well. I love getting comments because it extends the conversation and I can give more insight that I might have forgotten to write in the post.

  2. Job well done! It’s funny how interior designers find a ‘lost’ space to be a blank canvas to colour in! I think you did exactly that. Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

