Don’t Give Up on Your Home Decor

DON'T GIVE UP ON YOUR HOME DECOR

Guest bedroom Before
Guest bedroom Before

 

Do you have a guest bedroom that could use a little updating? As you can see from the picture above, this one had dark paneling and some yellow toile wallpaper. It matched the yellow from the kitchen and bathroom in my previous posts Can’t Change Your Bathroom Fixtures Right Now? Just Go With it! and Transformation.

This is a rental, but you can see just what a difference a little staging makes. If you are selling a property, staging it is a good way to raise the perceived value. Updating the background with paint and adding accessories and new bed linens are an inexpensive way to totally transform the look of a space.

2ndBDRM3
Before

In the previous two posts I used yellow, or Behr Ultra Premium Plus paint with primer in Hummus and the white was Falling Snow. The white and yellow color palette was nice, but I added blue so it wouldn’t get boring. The color I chose was Clear Pond PPU13-15 also from Behr. This happens to be my favorite paint to use.

Tip: If you are going to paint over wood paneling that has never been painted before, roll on some primer first. The paneling will probably be very dry and will soak up the paint like a sponge. Even though the paint I used has primer in it, we would have used much more paint without that first coat.

Clear Pond  Behr Ultra Premium Plus Paint with Primer
Clear Pond Behr Ultra Premium Plus Paint with Primer

The pictures don’t lie. The guest room is now more inviting and it looks and feels like a relaxing place to be. The ladies who run the rental properties couldn’t stop “Oooh-ing” and “Awww-ing” at the difference. I’d say they were pretty happy with the result. My assistants (my three children) kept saying that they would like to live in a place like this. Of course, they COULD live in a place like this if they would keep their rooms clean, but that’s another story for another day.

 

Guest bedroom After
Guest bedroom After

So much lighter and brighter don’t you think?

After
After

All of the art in the place has birds in it. The Rio Grande Valley is a popular place for bird watching so I thought it would be an appropriate theme. Everything in this room is new except for the lamps above. I tend to save things that are already there if I can when I am staging.

Let me know what you think by leaving a comment below. I love hearing from you and if you have any questions you can ask them too. I will probably answer them in a future post.

Feeling stuck or unsure how to go about transforming your space? Head on over to Diva by Design and let’s get started on your room transformation today! I even have Thanksgiving and Christmas mood boards to help you with your holiday decorating. Click here to see them. And, hey! Show me some love by leaving a comment or sharing my post with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, even Pinterest!

Copyright© 2014 Diva by Design. All rights reserved.

 

2 thoughts on “Don’t Give Up on Your Home Decor

Leave a Reply

