Does Your Home Have the ‘Blues’?

In the West, blue means:

  • honesty
  • truth
  • loyalty
  • masculinity
  • formality
  • repose
  • tranquility
  • sobriety
  • sky
  • depth of sea

The Feng Shui ‘blues’ are:

  • peacefulness
  • soothing
  • spiritual
  • contemplation
  • patient

One of my favorite blues isn’t really blue at all. It’s aqua, or a mix of blue, green and white. For years now, my favorite color scheme has been aqua, white, and gold. I liked it before that theme became so popular and when I saw it popping up in all the trade magazines it made me laugh. I still like it and you can see that here in the pic of my home office where I work on my creations.

My Office
My Office

When I finally gathered everything from around my house to decorate my office, I realized just how much I like this combination. I didn’t have to buy anything new. It all worked together. Blue is a peaceful color, and I have noticed my wardrobe also gravitate towards more blue lately.

Like many people, I love blue and white porcelain accents and I have them in every room in my home.

Living Room E-Design
Living Room E-Design

Except for the floor, which is dark, someday my living room will look more like this. No, I will not show you what it looks like right now! I am still in the middle of that project. The walls and ceiling have been painted and I am working on making the curtains. I am creating my own fabric for them with paint, textile medium, and a large ikat pattern wall stencil. What color paint do you think I’m using? Blue, of course!

My curtains
My curtains

When you add in blue as an accent color, it helps to calm other colors that are too active such as red and orange. Blue is the most popular color chosen for homes here in the U.S. and in these times we might benefit from adding in some happy colors for warmth and cheer.

Chas Chair from Pier 1 Imports
Chas Chair from Pier 1 Imports

You probably know this, but I’ll say it anyway… blue is a cool color. If you have a room with a southern exposure, try painting it blue.  It really does work to ‘cool’ the room down.

Have fun with it! Navy blue makes a great neutral and can be used with any color. Just make sure that the undertones of the colors you choose match. By this I mean that when the color is mixed, more than one color is used to get the shade that you want just right. These other colors change the tone of the base color and can look funny when up against one that has a different undertone. This is why some hues, especially white look more yellow, or some more green and even more pink or purple than others.

Feeling stuck or unsure how to go about transforming your space? Head on over to Diva by Design and let’s get started on your room transformation today! I even have Thanksgiving and Christmas mood boards to help you with your holiday decorating. Click here to see them. And, hey! Show me some love by leaving a comment or sharing my post with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, even Pinterest!

Copyright© 2014 Christina Rodriguez. All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

