Who Knew ‘The Twelve Days of Christmas’ Was Sexy?

Who Knew theTwelve Days of

All of the references I have seen to the verse “eight maids a-milking” have been about sex. Asking the ‘maid’ to “go a-milking” meant either “Marry me” (romantic) or “Have an affair with me” (subtle). Not surprising to me since I actually took a class in college on Sixteenth Century music. Most of the music in church then were lusty lyrics from folk songs set to church music. That’s one way to get people to come to church on Sunday.

What does this have to do with interior decorating? Not much, unless you want to decorate with a barnyard theme. Just don’t call me if that’s what you want! I live on a small ranch but I refuse to bring it inside with me. Except maybe this horse!

eighth_day3

I know who I am and what my design style is. Have you figured out yours? In January, I am starting a home designing lesson series called, “Design Planning for Real Life 2015 – How to Design Your Home So You Save Time, Money, and Make Less Mistakes. You can sign up for it on my website. If you’ve read my About page here on the blog you know that I feel that your home, how it’s decorated, and how you feel in it affects every aspect of your life.

This idea isn’t new. In fact, it’s one of the reasons that Feng Shui is so popular. Most of the principles taught have to do with the energy flowing throughout your home and how that energy, or Chi, affects you. Feng Shui has been around for thousands of years and many people use it’s principles to decorate their home for good luck. I don’t know how lucky it is, but there are many common sense ideas to be found.

eighth_day2(2)

One of these is the concept of ‘stuck’ energy. Mostly this comes from having too much clutter in and around your home. The feelings that come from having too much stuff can really bring you down. Especially those of us who live in small homes. Clutter makes life more difficult than it has to be. Keeping the clutter weighs on your mind and spirit and these feelings can affect you at home, work, and even your relationships with others.

Have you seen the show “Hoarders”? The families of the ones hoarding are having just as hard a time as the one who’s home is packed to the rafters with crap. Clutter has made an impact on each of them.

If you are having a hard time getting started on decorating your home, this may be one of the reasons. I will be going over clearing your clutter as the first step in your interior design planning. But before that, I thought it would be fun for you to get to know what you like so that when it comes time to choose the pretty stuff for your home, you already have a direction from which to start.

eighth_day1(2)

Here’s an exercise to get you started on finding out who you are ‘design-wise’. (Is that even a word?) I got it from Denny Daikeler’s book, What Color is Your Slipcover?:

Look around you at the things you have in your home and think about what words describe them and represent how they make you feel. An example might be your sofa. Describe it. Mine is large, solid, soft, and supportive. It represents nights watching movies with my family, sitting around talking with each other, and comfort.

Spend some time looking around each room in your home and thinking about what things represent to you. Pick one thing out of your home that ‘speaks’ to you the most. This object is an “outside representation” of who you are right now. Don’t be in a hurry and don’t ask for anyone else’s opinion. Only you know what is in your heart.

Once you have found it, start a decorating plan journal and write down what it is and how it represents you. Write down why you like it and why you chose it. We are beginning to get in touch with how things can affect the way you feel. You’ll see and you may be very surprised by what you find.

You might be wondering at the pictures in this post. These are some of my favorite things from around my house. None of them are new, but are things that I have always loved and still do. They fit my decorating style. Each was purchased at different stores and several years in between, but they all have a place in my home and will for a long time.

Design Planning for Real Life 2015 – How to Plan Your Décor So You Save Time, Money, and Make Less Mistakes

My gift to you, just go to www.mydivabydesign.com and sign up for it. You will automatically receive the lessons in your email inbox starting January 5. Let your DIY and decorating enthusiast friends know about it as well. It is a free series and anyone can join the fun!

Feeling stuck or unsure how to go about transforming your space? Head on over to Diva by Design and let’s get started decorating your home for real life today! And, hey! Show me some love by leaving a comment or sharing my post with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, even Pinterest!

Copyright© 2014 Christina Rodriguez. All rights reserved.

 

 

Leave a Reply

