You Are How You Decorate

I have said it before and I will keep on saying it, “You deserve to live in a beautiful home.”

I know you want to. You wouldn’t be reading decorating blogs and searching Pinterest and Houzz all the time if you didn’t. Have you decided to do anything about it yet? Now is a good time. All the resolutions everyone is making and breaking right now. I have made one for the first time. you can read about it in my post from Friday, New Year, New You, New Décor.

Maybe you are wondering how to go about making over your current home into your dream home. It can be done. Start with a small project. I have the perfect one. Clear some clutter. Sign up for my Design Planning for Real Life series here. It started today. Don’t worry if you miss any posts. I am going to give a link each Friday so you can get the ones you miss. This week we are going to ‘Clear the Clutter’ and ‘Learn to Let Go.’

Not my office!
Not my office!

See the difference in the way the office above and my office below look and feel? What words would you use to describe the first office? Leave your comments below. Which one would you rather work in? On Wednesday, I will show you what I can help you do if your office is like the first one.

My Office
My Office

There are so many articles and books out there about getting rid of clutter it’s crazy. That’s because it is important. Not just so your home will look and feel better, but so you will look and feel better. Don’t believe me? Sign up for the series. You might be surprised.

From reading my blog, you now know that your home is a reflection of what is inside you. You are not molded by your surroundings, but how your home looks and feels is a direct statement of what is going on inside of you right now. If you are frustrated by something in your home, you can choose to look at it in a negative way, or you can choose to change it to suit you better.

Don't live like this!
Don’t live like this!

In your home, good design means that you are able to do all the activities that you need and want to do easily. It functions well for you and your lifestyle. The room above, in it’s current condition, would make finding things you need difficult. (I’m going to redesign this room for a future post as well.) From the time you wake up in the morning, leave for work, daily activities, coming home, relaxing to going to bed for the night. All the time you spend at home should be enjoyable and your home should support all that you do. What are you going to change this year?

Don’t forget to enter the Messiest Room Contest 2015. Your room doesn’t really have to be that messy at all. I will be choosing the winner at random, so please enter because I look forward to talking one-on-one with the lucky winner!

How do you enter?

  1. Go to http://eepurl.com/6TeFX and enter your email address.
  2. I will add your email address to my Pinterest board “Messiest Room Contest 2015″ and send you an email so that you can add your picture to the board. (Don’t forget to write a description on why your room is the messiest)

If you are already on my email list, your email address  has already been added to the board and you can click on the link above to add your photo.

That’s it! The contest will end on Wednesday, January 7 at midnight CST. I will announce the winner here on my blog and if you are the lucky one, you will also get an email with instructions on how to claim your prize. Make sure to share this post with your friends on Facebook and Twitter too!

DESIGN PLANNING FOR REAL LIFE 2015

My gift to you, just go here or to my website  www.mydivabydesign.com  and sign up for it. You will automatically receive the lessons in your email inbox starting January 5. Let your DIY and decorating enthusiast friends know about it as well. It is a free series and anyone can join the fun!

Feeling stuck or unsure how to go about transforming your space? Head on over to Diva by Design and let’s get started decorating your home for real life today! And, hey! Show me some love by leaving a comment or sharing my post with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, even Pinterest!

Copyright© 2015 Christina Rodriguez. All rights reserved.

 

 

One thought on “You Are How You Decorate

Leave a Reply

