Let’s Talk About Your Interior Decorating Budget

Fun, right? I know you love talking about money because I do too. Uh huh. Said no one ever! It’s fun to spend it, but not so fun to budget. But we all know it’s necessary. As an interior decorator, I want  you to hire me to help you design your home for happiness. What ever happiness means to you. That should go without saying, but what I don’t want is for you to overspend.

money texture

Seeking the advice of an interior decorator is a good way to save money. We work with budgets every day and we know how to prioritize and still end up with beautiful design. As a decorator, I help keep you on track and on budget. I am not here to spend every penny you have. And I am not here to dictate what you should put into your home.

I want you to be happy and to love everything that we do because you are the one who will be living in your home. The design is all about you, with some creative ideas from me.

framed-in tub enclosure

So how do you decide what type of project you will need to do that will make you the happiest? Which one of these is you?

  1. Do you intend to stay in your home forever? Or at least for a very long time?
  2. Are you buying a home to fix up and sell for a profit? Or,
  3. Your kids have moved out and you want to make changes that will support your current lifestyle.

If you are in the first category, I would suggest that you spend your budget on the background stuff first. This means structural and practical upgrades. You want your home to be safe and to last for a long time. One of my contractor friends says it this way: “You want to do it right the first time so you don’t have to keep spending money to fix it again and again.” Good advice.

If you are only going to live in a house while fixing it up to sell, I would say that you fix the most glaring problems and then use the rest of your budget to upgrade. Keep in mind who will be buying the home when you do that and don’t choose the most expensive materials for everything. Keep it affordable for more profit.

agate texture

If you fall into the last category, you will probably want to convert rooms in your home to support your current lifestyle. Spend your money on essential upgrades and cosmetic improvements for your comfort. Just remember, you don’t have to do everything all at once, unless you are in the second category. And have fun! The result is worth the effort and mess.

If you need advice on how to transform your space, click here to take a look at my Design Hotline service. It’s a convenient and cost-effective way to get help from an interior decorator. And, hey! Show me some love by leaving a comment or sharing my post with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, even Pinterest!

You can still sign up for my Design Planning for Real Life 2015 series on my website http://www.mydivabydesign.com for more details on how to design happiness into your own home. And it’s free!

Copyright© 2015 Christina Rodriguez. All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

