My Interior Designer Went to Goodwill and All I Got Was This Lamp!

Think you can’t find anything good at a thrift store? Think again. Of course you have to keep going back if you want to find anything worth rescuing. Like this lamp. Brass and burnished metal lighting fixtures are all the rage right now, and I’m no exception. Well, actually, I have always loved the look of metals with a patina. Especially a soft, glow or sheen instead of shiny.

I got the idea to make my own from a visit to pick up some furniture I found on Craigslist. The house I went to was decorated by the lady who lived there and she really loved gold. It was everywhere! But my favorite were these two vintage lamps that she inherited from her mother. They were brass candlestick lamps with metallic gold shades that looked like they had been painted in a faux finish.

Now I needed lamps like that!

So I started looking at estate sales, yard sales, and thrift shops for a good lamp to fix up myself. And I found this:

Goodwill lamp redo by Diva by Design
It works!

(Kindly ignore the mess on my dining room table. I was working after all! :))

It’s hard to tell from the picture, but the lamp was covered in rust spots. I was going to remove the rust and leave the lamp the way I found it, but during my investigation of it I found that the base is magnetic (so steel or other metal plated in brass) and the top isn’t (brass). Since there were two different materials involved it would take more work than I wanted to remove the rust. So I covered it with Rub-n-Buff in Antique Gold. This will keep the rust at bay and gives the metal a high-end sheen rather than a shiny, cheap look.

Next, I found a lamp shade that I liked from At Home. Since my intention was to paint it, it didn’t matter what the shade looked like. This is the one I chose:

Get the Designer Look for Less with Diva by Design

The size is right and it’s not a bad-looking lampshade to begin with, but it doesn’t go with the lamp. You can see the primer waiting patiently behind the lampshade. I put on one coat and then one coat of Ralph Lauren Metallic Paint in Burnished Gold.

Use gold meatllic paint for a designer look

Then I followed the instructions and did a second coat with a sea sponge. I turned the light on to check that it was even (it wasn’t) and sponged on a third coat. And here is the result!

brass candlestick lamp by Diva by Design Harlingen

What do you think? Tell me in the comment section.

The only drama is in the design…
Click here to learn more about my Living in Color home decorating packages. They are a convenient and cost effective way to get help from an interior decorator. And, hey! Show me some love by leaving a comment or sharing my post with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, even Pinterest!

Copyright© 2015 Christina Rodriguez. All rights reserved.
Leave a Reply

