You Don’t Have to Follow the Trends When Decorating Your Home

“But if I don’t, my house will look dated and my friends will laugh at me behind my back!” (That’s you talking by the way.) That’s “crazy talk”. If your friends are true friends then they know you. They know what you like, what you do in your free time, and how you live your life in general. If the interior decor of your house reflects YOU, they will love it. How can I say that with such confidence? They love YOU don’t they? (If not, you may want to re-think that whole friendship thing.)

I am a firm believer that your home should reflect the colors you love, the style you are drawn to, the lifestyle you lead, and what makes you truly happy. If your house reflects the latest trends and that is what you love then great! But if that is not what makes you happy, then why do it? Also, if you hired an interior designer who only gave you what is ‘in’ right now and you let them talk you out of something that you love, you hired the wrong person!

Yep. I said it. You hired the wrong person. They were looking for portfolio pictures of their style. I prefer to listen to what you have to say about your home. What you like. What you don’t like. And what you want to live with. Because I don’t live in your house. You do. I have an example.

One of my clients absolutely loves Art Deco Style. Now, I can appreciate the style because there are some beautiful examples and elements to it, but it is not my style. Yet, that is exactly what I am incorporating into his home. Art Deco in the 21st Century. Here is the mood board that I created based on what he said in our initial consultation.

Interior Design Mood Board
Interior Design Mood Board

Understand that this is a design concept and mood board not the actual elements of the finished decor. I am still in the middle of this project and though I kept to the spirit of this concept, colors and specific design elements have changed according to my client’s taste. In fact, the next image is the final paint color palette for the entire home.

Whole House Color Palette
Whole House Color Palette

 

But those aren’t Art Deco colors! Maybe, but they are what the client asked for. He gave me a stack of paint chips that he had been saving for when he decided to furnish his home. I used those as the basis of the colors I chose (and client approved) that would work in his home.

Have I peaked your interest? Well, you’ll just have to wait and see how it all turns out. There are a few surprises in store and I will tell you all about them. Just not yet!

 

I’m Christina Rodriguez and I am the face behind Diva by Design Interiors. You can read more about Diva by Design here. I like to get feedback (comments) on my blog posts because when you comment or ask questions, it gives me an idea of what you’re interested in reading about. It’s a great way for me to get an idea of what to write about next. I’d love to know who my readers are and what projects you are thinking about starting (or finishing) in your own home. So I would appreciate it if you would take the time to introduce yourself in the comments! Thanks!
Copyright© 2016 Christina Rodriguez. All rights reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

